DeSE2013 Committees

 General Chair Eesa_Bastaki Dr. Eesa Bastaki has completed his elementary and intermediate school from Al-Shaab School in Dubai and his secondary school from Jamal Abdulnaser School in Dubai. Dr. Eesa Bastaki received his Bachelor’s & Master’s degrees in Electrical Engineering from University of California, San Diego and Ph.D. from University of California, Irvine.  His research interests are Digital Communications, Coding, Spread Spectrum Communications and Synchronization. He worked as a Teaching Assistant in UAE University from 1981 until 1989.  He has been a faculty member in the EE Department at UAE University since 1989.  During his career he held many posts.  He was the Chairman of the Energy Section during 1990-1991, and Chairman of the Technology Section during 1991-1992 at the Technology & Energy Research Center, UAEU.  He was the Assistant Dean for Student Affairs from 1992 to 1996 and later on from 1998 to 2000 the Director of the IT Center at UAEU.  He was the Director of Education & Technology at Dubai Silicon Oasis Authority (DSOA) from 2003 to 2008.  In 2009, he was Consultant of Education & Technology to DSOA.  He is one of the founders of DSO & RIT-Dubai. He is the founder of IT Center in Al-Ain Municipality.  Until Sept 2012, he was the CEO of ICT Fund. He was the Chairman IEEE, UAE Section and now the Honorary Chair.  He was a member of New York Academy of Sciences from 1995 to 1999.  He is a member of Advisory Board of many universities (AUD, AUST, AUS, UWoD, UoS, RIT-Dubai and AURAK). He is a board member of UQAIB (University Quality Assurance International Board) at KHDA.  He is the Chairman of the Technical Committee of Emirates Energy Awards. He is a board member of Cultural & Scientific Association and the Chairman of the Board of Emirates Science Club.  Dr Eesa is the recipient of Emirates Excellence Award for Arts, Literature & Science in the science category in 2009 which is the highest award in UAE.
 TPC ChairDr. Naeem Radi

 Dr. Naeem Radi is the CEO of the Al Khawarizmi University College in the UAE. His main area of research involves the design of image processing algorithms for image compression.
Dr Radi has published many journal and conference papers and reports on many aspects of this research and has also acted as Session Chair and on program committees for many international conferences. He serves as professional fellowship for BCS and as a Professional Member for IEEE.

Steering Committee Chairdianemeehan  Professor Diane Meehan has been the Dean of the Faculty of Technology and Environment at Liverpool John Moores University since 2002. She is a member of the University’s Strategic Management Team. Prior to that she was the Director of School of Computing and Mathematical Sciences at Liverpool John Moores University from 1998-2002. She has previously worked at the University of Teesside and North East Wales Institute, Wrexham, now Glyndwr University. Diane is a Professor of Computer Education

Steering Committee

  • Prof. Abdulla Alshamsi, UAE
  • Dr. Husam Al-Ulama, Dubai
  • Prof. Madjid Merabti, UK
  • Prof. Taleb Bendiab, Australia
  • Prof. Isa Qamber, IEEE, Bahrain
  • Dr. Sattar Sadkhan, IEEE, Iraq
  • Prof. Panos Liatsis, UK
  • Prof. Paulo Lisboa, UK
  • Prof. Abdulla Al Ani, Oman
  • Dr. Abir Hussain, UK
  • Dr. Rozaida Ghazali, Malaysia
  • Prof. Majid Al-Taee, Jordan
  • Prof. Atulya Nagar, UK
  • Prof. I. E. Ivanov, Bulgaria
  • Dr. Hissam Tawfik, UK
  • Prof. Amir Atiya, Egypt
  • Prof. Duc Pham, UK
  • Prof. John Garabaldi, UK
  • Prof. Zarko Cucej, Slovenia
  • Dr. Dimitris Kalamatianos, Ireland
  • Prof. Marek Domański, Poland
  • Prof. Richard Bayford, UK
  • Prof. Geoffrey Shin, Hong Kong
  • Prof. Aura Conci, Brazil
  • Dr. Lean Yu, China
  • Prof. Paul Cristea, Romania
  • Prof. Khalil Al-Dulemi, Iraq
  • Prof. Ahmed Al-Shamma’a, UK
  • Dr. C. Mihai Dobre, Romania
  • Dr. F. Gwadry-Sridhar, Canada
  • Dr. Dhiya Al-Jumeily, UK
  • Mr. Ali Ghuname, UAE
  • Dr. Gurvinder Baicher-Singh, UK
  • Dr Tatjana Družovec, Slovenia
  • Prof Richard Zobel, Thailand
  • Dr  V. E. Gueorguiev, Bulgaria
  • Dr Roxana  Radvan, Romania
  • Prof. Hussain Al-Ahmad, UAE
  • Prof. Wathiq Mansoor, UAE
  • Prof. Raouf Naguib, UK
  • Dr. Saad Ali Amin, UK
  • Prof. Stuart Fairclough, UK
  • Dr. David Lamb, UK
  • Dr. Ahmed Alosi, UAE
  • Dr. Ahmad Taher Azar, Egypt
  • Dr Samhaa El-Beltagy, Egypt
  • Prof. Aboul Ella Hassanien, Egypt
  • Dr Tariq Rahim Soomro, Egypt
  • Prof. Farid Meziane, UK
  • Dr Rafael Tolosana-Calasanz, Spain
  • Dr. Akash Singh, USA
  • Dr. Mohammed Saeed, UK
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Roßmann, Germany